Sounds like…

The Beach Boys partying with Imagine Dragons in the fertile valley between the ocean of 60’s psychedelia and the mountains of 90’s rock.  This is Treetop Mansion: the recording project of Clint Bierman and Peter Day (of The Grift). They write original music inspired by their shared eclectic musical taste with a focus on songcraft, vocal harmony, groove, and vibe. 

Our Story

A few years ago Bierman and Day began meeting every Wednesday at Liontone Studios in Middlebury, VT.  “Workshop Wednesday” began as an exercise in songwriting – while still performing around 150 shows per year with their long-standing Vermont band, The Grift – and quickly became a highlight of the week for the two songwriters and longtime collaborators. The glowing tubes of the preamps and compressors (and one trusty spaceheater) would warm the modest studio through the winter months, while ceiling fans did precious little to cool it down in the hot summer months. But – with no deadline or outside pressure for a finished product – the creative freedom and time to experiment with different sounds and musical ideas was inspiring. The finished songs slowly began to flow.  After a year or two, the duo distilled their gallons of raw songs into a 10-song collection of concentrated sonic syrup as addictive as Vermont’s best known maple export. Realizing they had a batch of really f@#%ing good songs worth sharing, Bierman and Day brought on visionary Vermont-born producer/engineer and frequent collaborator Dave DeCristo (Twiddle, Alpenglow, Mike Gordon, The Sweet Remains.) Rhythmic samurai Sean Preece and Russ Lawton (Trey Anastasio Band, Soule Monde) brought live drums and deep grooves to the project that is, at long last, ready to share with the world. Ladies and gentlemen…

Treetop Mansion!


Meet the Band

While the music and lyrics of Treetop Mansion is entirely composed by Clint Bierman and Peter Day, a few others have contributed mightily along the way to bring the songs to life.

Clint Bierman – Vocals, Guitars, Synthesizers, Piano, Hammond Organ


Peter Day – Vocals, Bass


Dave DeCristo – Producer/Engineer, vibe technician


Sean Preece – Drums

Russ Lawton – Drums


Stay tuned…